We help in the digital transformation of your business by blending your people, processes and technology


blog post

BCCI secretary Jay Shah shares details on 2021-22 domestic calendar, dates, squad-strength and Covid-protocols | Cricket News


MUMBAI: BCCI secretary Jay Shah, on his way back from London after having travelled there to watch the second-Test between England and India, wrote to the members of the Board, and related stakeholders, on Thursday, outlining the details of the 2021-22 domestic season.
In doing so, Shah - who has been keen on domestic cricket restarting across the country, subject to adherence of strict Covid-related protocols - said: "The BCCI is working very closely with the government of India, state regulatory authorities, and other relevant stakeholders to ensure that our sport achieves a collaborative solution. With this, there is a combined objective for a complete BCCI domestic cricket season 2021-22 to be played, enabling us to maintain the integrity of each competition".
His letter further added: "The restart date for BCCI domestic cricket season 2021-22 has been reviewed with all stakeholders, as the impact of the Covid-19 pandemic develops and we work together through this very challenging time.
"The BCCI will proceed with the full season of domestic cricket starting with Under-19 tournaments (both categories) in September 2021".

The following has now been decided. Each squad, across tournaments and age-groups, can have a maximum of 30 members comprising a minimum of 20 players. Accordingly, the number of support staff is capped at a total of 10. Each team is encouraged to have a team physician to manage COVID-related issues. The team physician is separate from the team physiotherapist and is inclusive in the 10-member support staff.
Also, the last date of inter-state transfer and registration of guest players will be 15-days prior to the start of the specific tournament.
Last year too, the BCCI had been keen to pursue all domestic tournaments and had looked at ways to schedule matches until the office-bearers realised that time was too short and complications aplenty. "That was a big reason why a premier tournament like the Ranji couldn't be conducted. This time the BCCI, among other things, also enjoys a benefit of hindsight and that experience will work in favour of Indian cricket. The onset of the pandemic was new and unknown to all of us, like everywhere else. But a year-and-a-half of dealing with it has taught us that we have to find ways, despite this unrelenting virus, to continue working," a senior BCCI member said.
The BCCI has shared with the members details pertaining to the tournaments in terms of groupings and qualifications for knockouts
Barring the Vijay Merchant (Under-16 tournament) scheduled for November-December, the details for which haven't been shared, the secretary's office has finalised the number of tournaments, matches and dates going forward (see box below).

The Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy, the Ranji Trophy and the Vijay Hazare (men's one-day) Trophy will all have a group format of five elite groups of six teams each and one plate group of eight teams (total of 38 teams) - with five matches per team across all groups.
The men's state A one-dayers and the CK Nayudu (Men's Under-25) will have five elite groups of six teams each and one plate group of seven teams. In both these tournaments, the elite groups will see each team play five matches, the plate group will see each team play six matches.
In the Cooch-Behar Trophy (Under-19), the Vinoo Mankad (Under-19) one-dayers, the senior women's one-dayers, senior women's T20 and the women's under-19 one-dayers, there will be five elite groups of six teams each and one plate group of six teams. Each team will play five matches across all groups except the senior women's T20, in which each plate group team will play six matches.
Further, Shah also shared details on the qualifications for knockouts. "The winner of the five Elite Groups will make it directly to the quarterfinals. The second placed teams from each elite group and the winner of the plate group will play three pre-quarterfinals and the three winners will complete the quarterfinal line-up," the letter informed.
"The pandemic has been tough on all of us, we have all had to make some hard decisions that have kept us from playing a full-fledged domestic cricket season in India. On behalf of the BCCI, we thank all our state associations, administrators, match-officials, coaches, and athletes, for their patience and understanding," Shah wrote. We will be sharing more details in relation to the domestic cricket season 2021-22 shortly."

Source link

August 20, 2021, 5:02 am

Coderkeys is helping thousand of people do business.
if you any question about our services

Let’s talk

Move to New WorldGet a Free Consultation !

We’d love to hear from you. Please fill up the quick form and our team member will be in touch with you as soon as possible.