On 5 October (Sunday) R.K. of Colombo. A blockbuster match has been played between India and Pakistan under the Women’s Cricket World Cup 2025 at Premdasa Stadium. In this match, a ruckus arose when the Pakistani batsman Muniba Ali was dismissed. Muniba was run out on Deepti Sharma’s throw.
The entire incident happened in the fourth over of the Pakistani innings. In that over, fast bowler Kranti Gaur’s last ball hit Muniba Ali’s pad. Indian players appealed for LBW, but the field umpire gave not out. Indian wicketkeeper Richa Ghosh also felt that the ball was picked out of the leg stump, so India did not take a review.
Meanwhile, Deepti Sharma picked up the ball and made a directed throw on the stumps of wicketkeeper and wicketkeeper and. Muniba Ali was a little out of the crease and in the meantime he had once kept his bat in the crease. But when Bells fell, her bat was slightly above the ground. At first, the third umpire gave a knotout to Muniba, but after seeing the replay again, he gave the decision of the out.
What does ICC rule say?
If seen, the decision of the third umpire was completely correct. The Rule Book of the ICC says that as long as the ball is in the play i.e. it is not dead, then the batter’s bat should remain inside the popping crease. If the batsman is running a run, then even after reaching the crease, if his bat is in the air, then that knotout will be given.
But Muniba Ali was not running away here, in such a situation, it was mandatory for his bat or foot to stay in the crease, even though he had kept his bat in the crease once before that. When Bells fell, Muniba’s bat was in the air and the feet were out of the crease. Had Muniba run running, she would have not been out.
Rule 30.1 According to a batsman will be considered out of the crease, if no part of his body or bat is touching the ground behind the popping crease, that is, if the bat or leg is in the air, then the batsman will not be considered inside the crease.
There itself Rule 30.1.2 It is said that if a batsman reaches the crease by running or diving and has touched his bat or body on the ground once inside the crease, then he will take the bat or leg for a while, then he will be considered inside the crease.
However, Pakistani players probably did not know the rules. After this incident, Pakistani captain Fatima Sana was seen arguing with the fourth umpire, while Muniba Ali looked quite disappointed. On the other hand, the Indian player was celebrating. Later, it was also revealed in the replay that if India had taken a review on that ball, Muniba would have been out.
—- End —-
